Fatherhood, Fixing Carb Breather Tubes And Fitting Headlight Screws

I’ve had two very welcome deliveries in the last 24 hours.

Last night, I had a very special delivery – my baby daughter was born!

I’ve posted enough baby pictures on social media today, so the rest of this post will now return to its normally scheduled format!

This afternoon, the parts I’d ordered for Sylvie arrived, although two springs were on backorder.

The wonderful people at Blue City Motorcycles had let me know in advance and asked if I wanted to have my order sent without them and get the springs later or wait for everything to arrive before they sent it. I opted for the former.

Inside the parcel, I found a well-wrapped centrestand and a padded envelope  with the smaller parts in it.

After further unwrapping, I had quite the collection of smaller bags!

I started with the headlight screws, as one had gone missing completely and the other looked a bit wrong

  

The left side looked much more secure!

 

As it turned out, the replacements were a little different, so the right screw was replaced too.

 

I moved on to the carb breather hose joint. On the left is the broken joint on Sylvie, on the right is the replacement joint.

  

In order to get in to disconnect the broken joint, I removed the seat and left panel.

   

A little more room to work in now.

Disconnecting the larger hose in front gave much better access to the broken joint.

   

After removing the broken joint and one of the circlips, I compared them with the new parts.

  

I connected the new joint to the more accessible breather hoses.

Moving around the right of the bike, I found I was able to disconnect the small section of hose from the base of the carburetor.

 

As it proved impossible to remove the snapped-off section of the joint, I cut a new length of hose just slightly longer than the old one, then re-used the circlip that was on the old hose and added one of the new ones to the other end.

   

I fitted teh replacement hose to the joint and worked from the other side of the bike to connect it to the base of the carb.

   

Finally, I put the side panel and seat back on.

 

Sylvie is long overdue for a side view of her progress, so I took one from a more flattering angle.

Finally, I ticked off the carb breather hose on Sylvie’s list and added a new item.

Provided the springs arrive on time, I’ll be fitting the centrestand next week.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.